A Piece in the Games

image

The scratching of fingernails across the steel,

The never-ending sorrows of screaming reels—

I call for help, but nothing comes.

I’m alone by myself. The darkness succumbs.

I hear them coming, the deadly pain,

And I know I’m finished, the blood pumping in my veins.

But I won’t fall without one last stand.

I’ll fight until death takes my hand.

I pull out my knife and stand in range

As the killers come like deadly mange.

In what seems like slow motion, they burst through the trees

And come straight at me with unstoppable ease.

But I remember my training and stand steady and strong.

The hours of labor; the days so long.

I raise my knife and as they come in for the kill.

I slash down and the first blood of battle spills.

A boy falls before me, grabbing his neck as he dies,

But I don’t notice, not falling for the lies.

The others are coming, their swords flying in deadly arks,

But my knife meets them all. They lay not even one mark.

I slice about as I remember what they’ve done,

Killing my sister, my brother, and my loved one.

And before I know it, they all lay down dead,

Lifeless eyes looking up from lifeless heads.

I look to the sky and scream in rage,

“Are you finished with me yet? Have I pleased your bloody sage?”

I hear four cannon shots and I know that it’s done.

I have beaten the odds. In the games I have won.

But I feel no glory as I look to the beyond.

They’ve forced me to kill, and to lose my loving bond.

“I’ll never forget you,” I look forward and say.

“I’ll avenge your death. I’ll make them pay.”


*(Note: This poem is written based on The Hunger Games, if you didn’t get that. I wrote it a long time ago, just before the first Hunger Games movie came out. I found a soundtrack that some fan put together and wrote this while listening to it. It’s got some weird punctuation and wording, but I still think it turned out pretty cool.)

Picture source: wattpad

My poetry belongs to me. All poems under the category “Poetry by Me” are mine. Use of my poetry without my permission is prohibited. If you wish to use any my poetry for any reason, ask me for permission first.

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

