Art and Writing

My thoughts after looking through my school’s art show.

Art is astounding to me.

In all of my years, I’ve never been able to figure out how someone can think of, plan, even create such beautiful masterpieces. It’s not a talent I have. Artists have the imagination to see the end product before they’ve even begun creating, the patience to go through the many steps needed to reach the end product, and the ability to turn mistakes into an amazing adition to the art piece.

From my experience, I’ve found that artists and writers are both similar and different in multiple ways.

  1. Writers, like artists, can see the end product before they’ve even begun writing. However, they generally only see a small portion of the ending and expect it to be different.
  2. Likewise, writers have the patience to go through the necessary steps to finish a piece of writing, but unlike with art, you can always see at least some portion of the finished product and you never have to take any serious steps backward (unless you’re scrapping the piece).
  3. And last but certainly not least, writers have the ability to turn mistakes into something beautiful. However, while with art the mistake is considered a mistake that was not intended, any “mistakes” in writing are just considered a plot twist or something similar.

Now, admittedly, the similarities and differences vary depending on what the writer/artist is working on. An artist could be creating a piece with the sole intention of making it up as they go, or a writer could have a very specified intention for their writing.

However, I’ve come to the conclusion that there is one major factor that really sets art and writing apart:

The level of control.

In art, you have very little control. One mishap, one wrong brush stroke, and it’s very difficult (if no impossible) to erase the mistake without messing up the rest of the art piece. In writing, it’s easy to go back and change a word or completely delete an entire scene.

I’m not saying there’s no control in art or complete control in writing. Both have their fair share of control and freedom. However, it’s generally easier to control writing than it is to control art, which is probably why I love writing and can’t deal with creating art. I like to have the ability to change things as much as needed for them to be the best they can possibly be.

I’m not saying artists and writers are completely different kinds of people. In fact, the complete opposite is true. We are nearly identical people, just with a slightly different mindset. In some cases, we have the same midset, as is the case with those who are both writers and artists.

You people who create both art and writing: I commend you. You are mighty among people. Seriously. You deserve an award.

Anyway, what I’m trying to say it: I’m in awe of you artists out there. You guys are awesome and have a talent that I will never have nor understand.

In honor of all the amazing artists out there, I have a slideshow here that includes some of my favorite pieces from my school’s art show. Congradulations to all the award winners, and to those who didn’t recieve awards: you guys are still super awesome and so so┬átalented!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Note: I actually had a piece in the art show (thank you, Art Appreciation), but it wasnt’t very good at all, so you don’t get to see it.

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

