Finding Your Voice

Don’t try to copy others. Learn from others, but write as yourself.

200222049-001

Good morning, beautiful writers!!!

To begin today’s lesson, I would like you all to click on the link Poetry by Me and read a poem or two that I’ve written, or click on the link Fiction by Me and read one or so of the short fictions I’ve written.

Before you ask, no, this is not an attempt to get more people to read my writing. I actually have a point to this.

You back? Okay, time for a bit of analysis. What did you notice about the style of whatever you read? What did you notice about word choice? Sentence fluency? Literary techniques? Maybe it all seemed a bit dark?

imageWhat I’m trying to get you to notice about my writing is my voice. When it comes to writing, everyone has their own, unique voice. It’s created and formed over the years through reading and trying to reflect the voices of others until, eventually, it becomes something distinct and specific to you.

Take mine for example. My voice changes somewhat depending on what I’m trying to create, but I generally write with two very distinct tones: one when I write creatively, one when I write casually (a.k.a. when I blog).

With creative writing, I almost always carry on some sort of dark quality and tend to use more imagery to tell the story. Unless I’m writing a full-on novel, I tend to stay away from dialogue and use thoughts more than words.

However, when it comes to casual writing, I prefer to stay much more nonchalant. I choose to write like I speak, even though it might come across as rather foolish. At the end of the day, my main goal is to entertain, not to sound cool or all-knowing.

Though these two tones are completely different, they’re both the same voice. They evolved from a mixture of other voices that I tried to reflect when I was younger. For example, my greatest idol is Poe, so a large part of my voice reflects his. However, it’s obvious that my writing is not his because it’s also picked up notes of other voices, such as Uncle Rick, C.S. Lewis, and Shakespeare.

What I’m trying to say is, everyone, writer or not, has their own, unique voice. When writing, you should always stay true to your own voice. Don’t try to be someone you’re not. Your best pieces of work will evolve from you being yourself.

image

If you don’t know what your voice is, then practice writing. Find prompts and write something based off of them. Whatever you write, don’t compare it to someone else’s writing. Don’t even reflect off of it. When you finish your piece, turn the page and start on a new piece.

After you’ve written ten or so pieces, you can go back and read through them. Don’t criticize your voice, and don’t try to change it. The more you write, the more it will develop into something distinctly you.

And once your voice is distinctly you, you’ll finally be a true writer.


Picture sources: WriterAccess

The Art of Writing

TechWyse

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

