Reading Flash Fiction

Before I say anything else, you’ll need to refer to this HubPages link to know what I’m talking about in this post. There are three Flash Fiction examples on this page. I will be refering to these.

Alright, you with me?

Great, now onto my story analysis.

I’ll start with the “A stitch in time saves nine” prompt, “Gasping in the Wind.” I was quite a fan of this piece. I love what it did with the prompt and how it fit so much imagery and so many poetic phrases into so few words. There really isn’t much else I can say about it. It was brilliant and I was in love with it.

Next was the “a damaged object” prompt, “Acceptable Condition.” Though “Gasping in the Wind” was my favorite of the three, I loved the take on this one. I actually had to laugh while reading this because it just so happens that I have a notebook that’s so worn that the binding has torn off. I’ve been debating what tape I want to get to fix it with: black duct tape, silver duct tape, or clear packing tape. The duct tape would hold better, but the clear tape would be less noticeable. It really is quite the dabate.

Anyway, I was very impressed with the usage of dailogue and how it was what really created the story. It was unique and I appreciated it. It added a simplicity to the story that you very rarely see in the modern day.

Last was the “around the coffeepot” prompt, “Before the Locksmith.” I wasn’t much of a fan of this one. It was good, but it could have been much better. Honestly, I don’t even know what about it I don’t like. The imagery wasn’t bad, and neither was the story. I just didn’t like it much.

Based on these stories, you can get a pretty decent idea of what Flash Fiction is. You would think it’s easier to write something short, but it takes quite a bit of skill to make it good. I’m definitely going to play around with it a bit, and you should try it out as well.

It only takes a few minutes to write, after all!

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

