Today’s Holiday: National Students Athlete Day

April 6, 2016.

I’m glad this is today’s holiday, because I have a very good way to celebrate it!

It’s called WGI Finals week(end)!!!

imageWGI, or Winter Guard International, is the organization in charge of the indoor movement musical group competitions that occur in the winter. This includes Color Guard and Percussion Ensemble, and possibly Winds, though I didn’t know about that.

And this weekend, from Thursday through Saturday, is the Color Guard’s final set of performances!

YAAAAAAAAAY!!!!

image

It’s a pretty crazy weekend. Thursday and Firday, we have one performance each day, and Saturday we have two. The second performance on Saturday is the finals performance, which only fifteen groups in our class will perform in.

We’re gonna be one of those fifteen groups! It’s my senior year, we’re definitely gonna make it!

All of this is going on in Dayton, Ohio. We leave tonight at 6:00 for the city so that we don’t have to worry about driving all the way over tomorrow and can rush a bit less.

imageBy the way, because we’re going to be away from home, I’m not sure how much I’ll be able to blog. Like always, I’m not sure if we’ll have internet connection. If we do, I’ll be sure to get out some posts! If we don’t… Well, I apologize ahead of time.

Anyway, I think it’s pretty obvious that this is how I’m celebrating today’s holiday. My color guard is made up of student athletes, and it just so happens that we’re missing two days of school because of it. It’ll take a bit of extra effort not to get behind, but that’s just what it takes to be a student athlete.

Beyond that, I don’t have much to say. I just want to wish all the other guards performing this weekend good luck, and I hope you’ll wish us good luck as well!

And if you could, pray that we all have a fun and safe weekend, and that we’ll maybe even make some new friends during this trip! It’s gonna be rough, and we need all the prayers we can get!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


 

Picture sources: National Association of Music Education

The Cavaliers

Pepperell High School Band

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

