Today’s Holiday: Square Root Day

April 4, 2016.

imageHey guys, I’m back, and I’ve decided to start up again with a rather rare holiday!

In the world of math, a square root is a number that can be multiplied by itself to produce another number. For example, 1 is the square root of 1, 2 is the square root of 4, 3 is the square root of 9, 4 is the square root of 16, and so on and so forth.

So why is today square root day?

Check out the numbers of today’s date. 4/4/16. Four times four is sixteen, so four is the square root of sixteen, making today a mathematical holiday!

Like I said before, this holiday is very rare. It only occurs on very specific dates: January 1, 2001 celebrated this holiday; February 2, 2004 did as well; March 3, 2009 was the last occurence; and now today is celebrating this holiday!

Better enjoy it while it lasts. The next occurence isn’t until May 5, 2025!

Pretty cool, huh? I’ve always thought that mathematical holidays are some of the best. Not to mention, you can learn some pretty easy math concepts from them!

imageSo how do you celebrate today? Well… It’s suggested that you eat square shaped food made out of root vegetables, but I say just eat square shaped food. I’m not a fan of root vegetables myself, but any excuse to eat food is a good excuse in my book! Not to mention, lemon squares. Just… If you’ve never had lemon squares, you have not lived. They are heaven.

And, like always, you can celebrate by learning more about the holiday, its origins, and by thinking up other ways to celebrate!

Remember, the more people you get to celebrate, the more fun it’ll be!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


 

Picture sources: Geocaching

the things very dull indeed

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

