Today’s Holiday: Moth-er Day

March 14, 2016.

image

I’ve seen the name of this holiday both all-capitalized and as I wrote it. I don’t know which is right, so I’m just going with this.

Anyway… Everyone loves butterflies! Butterflies are the perfect accompaniment to flowers, so I love them especially. Jowever, butterflies aren’t the only beautiful fluttering insects out there.

imageMoths can be just as beautiful as butterflies, but they’re often far less appreciated. Maybe it’s because they tend to fly a little faster. Maybe it’s because they generally come out at night. Whatever the reason, people everywhere think they’re incredibly creepy.

Today’s holiday was created to thwart these thoughts. Instead of playing keep away with the moth that’s flying around your front porch light, why not watch it and try to learn a bit more about it?

Moth’s really aren’t as creepy or scary as you think. They’re actually really amazing creatures.

You could celebrate today by observing moths and trying to identify them, learning about moths and how they’re not creepy, and planting caterpillar-friendly plants in your yard/garden!

imageWell, I sadly won’t be able to plant anything in my yard/garden. I’m moving on Thursday this week, and my family’s got enough on our plates trying to get the house finished in time. No, it isn’t quite finished. It’s only just liveable. But, you know what? We’re moving anyway.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t celebrate today! I can still learn about moths and watch them fly around my porch lights! I’ll still have a great time celebrating!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


Picture sources: Safaritalk

Photography Obsession

Malcolm Schuyl Wildlife Photography

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

