Today’s Holiday: Girl Scout Birthday

March 12, 2106.

On this day in 1912, Juliette Gordon Low officially registered the first 18 Girl Scouts.

That would make today Girl Scout’s 104th birthday!!!

Happy Birthday, Girl Scouts!

imageI was actually a Girl Scout when I was younger. I started off with a pretty great troop, but when the leader had to move to another state, we got a new leader who couldn’t hold us together.

She picked favorites to participate in the fun activities, picked people she didn’t like to always be ignored/discluded, and she covinced everyone that I was some crazy, rowdy, good-for-nothing child who should not only be ignored and discluded, but made fun of and told how much of a failure I was as well.

It wasn’t much fun by the time I got to middle school, so I quit pretty soon. I wish I had found another troop and kept going, but there’s no going back now. I just happened to get stuck in the wrong troop. It happens.

To celebrate the Girl Scout birthday, I’m gonna enjoy my Girl Scout cookies!

Tagalongs and Do-si-does, all the way!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


 

Picture source: Girl Scouts of Virginia Skyline

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

