Today’s Holiday: Fun Facts About Names Day

March 7, 2016.

imageWell, I’m bored and I have 90 minutes of study hall time with nothing else to do, so I’m just gonna find some fun trivia for you guys!

  • In 2011, Sophia was in the number one spot on the official list of most popular names! Before the 1990s, it wasn’t even in the top 100!
  • The most recent official listing for the most popular baby names in the U.S. is the 2014 listing. The leading boy name was Noah, and the leading girl name was Emma.
  • “I am Lord Voldemort” is an anagram for “Tom Marvolo Riddle”! Cause you totally all didn’t already know that!!! (Yes, I knew that already as well.)
  • I decided Halo should be a name a few years ago, but when I looked it up, I discovered it wasn’t listed as a name on any name site! So, I added it to one site, and now it’s beginning to grow in popularity. Strange world we live in, huh?
  • There seems to be a trend in twins having similar sounding names. In 2011, the most popular twin names were Olivia and Sophia for girls, and David and Daniel for boys.
  • In 2015, the top three most popular male dog names were Max, Charlie, and Buddy, and the top theee most popular female dog names were Bella, Lucy, and Daisy!

I think six facts is enough, don’t you?

imageI know those facts weren’t super fun and random, but I figured there’s so many names out there, it would get a bit crazy if I looked for anything other than the basics.

To celebrate today, share these facts (or any others you find) with a friend, a family member, or even a random stranger! Maybe they’ll have an absolutely crazy name fact to share with you in turn!

That’s all for today, folks!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!

P.S. I was debating whether to celebrate Cereal Day today and take a video of me eating cereal, but I figured it’s a bit soon for that. Maybe next year… (wink wink)


 

Picture source: Giftypedia

Swampy’s Florida

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

