Today’s Holiday: Namesake Day

March 6, 2016.

image

Today’s holiday follows a pretty simple concept. All you really have to do is ask your parents or guardians why you were named what you were, or if you already know! Tell someone about it!

My full name, as you know from my bio, is Hope Alexandra Cullers.

If I remember correctly, my mom chose my first name and my dad chose my middle name. My dad suggested that I be named Annabelle, which was the name of my great grandmother on my mom’s side, but my mom refused for some reason.

So, my dad came up with Alexandra. My mom still refused to let it be my first name, but she agreed to it being my middle name.

I wish she would have changed it to Alexandria, though. Alexandria just seems so much more mature and beautiful. Alexandra is nice, but I’d just rather have that extra syllable.

As for my first name, my mom thought of Hope, and my dad immediately agreed.

I don’t know the origin of my last name. I’ve been trying to figure it out, but I really just need to do an in-depth search of my genealogy.

image.jpegI really want to know my genealogy… But that will have to be a goal for the future. Right now, I don’t have the time or knowledge of how to even begin the search.

Today is also a day to contact other people who share your name and just sort of talk to them about it.

So, is there anyone out there named Hope or Alexandra, or who has the last name of Cullers?

I’m not trusting enough of the internet to really commect with you, but go ahead and comment and we can have a nice chat!

imageAnd one more way I thought to celebrate today: look up your name and learn a bit about it! The background, the mythology, the meaning, famous people who share your name… Just whatever your heart desires!

I posted a poem a while back that sort of works today, too! It’s called My Name is Hope. Check it out!

Anyway, that would be all. Sorry to be getting this out so late!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


 

Picture source: Name.kitchen

Neatorama

pinterest

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

