Poem for Campbell Williams

image

Nothing right, never right…

Useless as the faucet dripping…

I tried, how I tried!

She deserved so much more.

I can’t even fix this faucet dripping…

The gun, there’s a gun.

I could take my life.

A farmer turned store worker,

only hired for my wife.

I loved her so,

but she wanted more.

I tried, how I tried…

Nothing left to live for.

If I died, would they notice?

Would she even care?

The gun, the gun.

I’ll write a note.

Tell her I love her,

how I loved her so.

A bullet in the head.

I’ll take my life.

My blood pools like the faucet dripping.


 

*(Note: I wrote this poem for my class 20th Century Literature last year. We were supposed to choose a character from Cold Sassy Tree and write a poem about them, so… I chose Campbell Williams. It was also supposed to be a group project, but… Writing poems as a group? That’s crazy talk.)

*(Another Note: This is obviously venturing into the really dark side of my poetry. I don’t what that means, but… Maybe I should start including a warning label? D for dark content… Oh my gosh, can someone create a poetry rating system? That’d make my life!)

Picture source: credit.com

My poetry belongs to me. All poems under the category “Poetry by Me” are mine. Use of my poetry without my permission is prohibited. If you wish to use any my poetry for any reason, ask me for permission first.

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

