Remember Me, Floriography

If I am to die today,

bury me in a light, Spring rain.

Sprinkle me in Mourning Brides.

I’ll leave you with a Celandine.image

And if a Cypress grows on my grave,

won’t you bring me Moss and Nightshade?

Fill your yard with Cornel Trees

and I’ll add a touch of Butterfly Weed.

My life was speckled with pleasure and pain—

a Dog Rose that could last for days—

but, through it all, there grew Snowdrops;

always held on and never gave up.

And though mistakes followed every step,

I will never carry Purple Hyacinth.

So with a Cedar and American Cudweed,

you will live on and remember me.


*(note: Yes, I know, the title is terrible. I couldn’t think of anything else, and I hate it. If you have a better idea, please tell me! Seriously. It needs to change. I’m begging you, please.)

*(another note: Yes, I got bored and decided to see what would happen if I wrote a poem with Floriography. And I decided, why not post it? And… Yeah.)

Picture source: Brittany Made Me Pretty

My poetry belongs to me. All poems under the category “Poetry by Me” are mine. Use of my poetry without my permission is prohibited. If you wish to use any my poetry for any reason, ask me for permission first.

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

5 thoughts on “Remember Me, Floriography”

  1. your wonderful moving poem reminded me somehow of a song from Sinead O’Connor “So I’m stretched on your grave
    And will lie there forever
    If you hands were in mine
    I’d be sure we’d not sever
    My apple tree my brightness
    It’s time we were together
    For I smell of the earth
    And am worn by the weather.”
    I think the word floriography is very good, it expresses exactly “the language of flowers”. Your poem really moved me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You have no idea how much that means to me, truly. My only hope is that my writing might impact someone in some way. The fact that it moved you brings me so much joy! And I’ve never heard that song, but it sounds simply beautiful and wonderfully poetic. I’ll listen to it as soon as I get home!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know how you feel. Sometimes people sense what I want to transfer with my posts and that makes me happy, too. You can find the song in youtube under the title: I am stretched at your grave. It’s very, very beautiful. Hope you like it. Regards Mitza

        Like

Leave a Reply

