Today’s Holiday: National Tooth Fairy Day

February 28, 2016.

Do you remember when you used to believe in the Tooth Fairy?

I do. And I wish I still believed, because those days of belief were the best of my life.

And if you do still believe, the Tooth Fairy is absolutely real and you should never stop believing.

image

I just said believe way too many times, but that is the central theme of this holiday (beyond teeth and fairies, I mean). The Tooth Fairy is something you have to believe in to get the full benefits.

I know sometimes there isn’t a choice in whether you believe or not. Eventually, if you haven’t already guessed it, your parents will tell you that all of your childhood heroes are them.

I, for one, had to be told.

I knew that not believing meant growning up, and I wanted to believe that my childhood hadn’t been a lie, that there was more out there. I wanted to believe that magic was real and my teeth went to good use rather than be thrown into the woods of the backyard so I wouldn’t find them.

I was able to keep myself from doubting until I lost my last tooth. You see, when I lost my last tooth, I only mentioned it to my parents in passing amd they never really heard. I didn’t think I need to. The Tooth Fairy would just bring me money and all would be well.

But when I woke up in the morning, my tooth was still there.

Two nights, I put my tooth under the pillow and two nights, I woke up with it still there. The third night, I gave in and told my parents, and the next morning, my tooth was finally gone.

That’s about when I figured it all out, though I still refused to accept it. My mom had to read a stupid book to me about how Santa and the others don’t exist for me to finally give in.

But, yeah. That broke my heart a bit. At least I had a childhood while it lasted. The Tooth Fairy made my childhood just a little bit better.

That being said, today celebrates a wonderful being. Even if you don’t believe that the Tooth Fairy exists now, you can still celebrate your memories of when you did believe.

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


 

Picture source: Our Nation’s Haligdaeg

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

