Today’s Holiday: For Pete’s Sake Day

February 26, 2016.

Oh, for Pete’s sake, why do I have to be so busy?!?!?

Sorry this is out late, but there’s my reason. I had a stats test this morning, had to finish an essay second period, and I was expecting to have to give a speech in Speech class, but turns out everyone’s exhausted today and we persuaded her to push back our speeches until Tuesday.

Thank heavens… I actually have time to write a post!

Though not much else. I have a competition tonight…

There is no rest for the weary…

Life is hard, but as long as you have a reason to celebrate, it doesn’t have to be bad. That’s why I’m making sure to set aside a little bit of time to celebrate today!

With all of that said, today is Pete’s Sake day. I’m pretty sure you’ve all heard the phrase “For Pete’s sake”, right?

Well, you’ll be fascinated to know that the Pete is actually St. Peter. This means that saying “For Pete’s sake” is like saying “For Christ’s sake”, but at a slightly lesser level.

“For Pete’s sake” is a phrase a person says when they’re in pain, something annoying happens, or someone does something stupid.

For example, if you stub your toe, you might yell “For Pete’s sake!” because it hurt. Or you might yell some obscenity. You know, whatever makes you happy.

Whatever it is you yell, I guess today is meant to be a day of annoyances, pain, and stupidity. Which doesn’t seem like much to celebrate, but you know…

Though I have to admit, today has been an incredibyl painful, annoying, and stupid day. A lot of stuff has happened, a few of which I commented on earlier.

Anyway, enough about that. However you choose to celebrate today, I hope you have fun with it! And I hope you didn’t have as crazy of a day as me, because this has not been fun.

Have a wonderful day of celebration!

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

