Today’s Holiday: Inconvenience Yourself Day

February 24, 2016.

This holiday may sound bad, but it’s actually the exact opposite!

In fact, this holiday was practically made for me!

Today is a day to inconvenience yourself, but for a good reason. Today, the only way to celebrate is through acts of kindness.

Yes, when this day says to inconvenience yourself, it means to inconvenience yourself in an attempt to help others.

I know. I first, I thought it meant celebrating bad inconveniences. I thought I was celebrating today by driving to school through the rain, by getting my socks soaked through my shoes. I thought my day was going to be miserable through inconveniences.

Instead, my day will be joyous through inconveniences. I’ll spend my day serving others, though I guess that won’t be any different from my normal day. I generally do that. Today, I’ll just be doing it to a greater extent, with a greater expense.

I probably won’t talk about any specific act of kindness I participate in today. It’s a bit common for me, and I probably won’t even notice.

However, for all of you who don’t inconvenience yourselves for others on a daily basis (which is not a bad thing, by the way, it’s just not me), make an effort to do so. Pick up something somebody dropped, hold the door open for someone, help some random person carry a heavy load…

You can even just spare a second to send a stranger a kind smile.

However you choose to inconvenience yourself, to a greater or to a lesser extent, I hope you find joy in it. Kindness should make you happy and you should have fun with it.

Have a wonderful day of celebration!


 

Picture sources: hubpages

odd loves company

sodahead

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

1 thought on “Today’s Holiday: Inconvenience Yourself Day”

Leave a Reply

