Today’s Holiday: National Lashes Day

February 19, 2016.

Today is another strange holiday that I absolutely love.

It’s National Lashes Day!

As in, eyelashes. Not, like, whip lashes or something.

This is a (mostly, kind of, sort of) kid safe zone, so no whipping.

image

I have absolutely no idea how this holiday came to be on this day. Apparently, some place called House of Lashes¬†submitted the idea back in August of 2015. Which means, this is the first year we’re celebrating it.

So let’s make this a thing, because I myself really like eyelashes.

Admittedly, they can get annoying. Like when one falls off and tickles your cheek, or when one gets bent and starts sticking into your eye, or when they irritate you in some other way…

But think about it. The main reason humans biologically have eyelashes is because they keep dust and other particles out of your eyes. They sort of act like a horse tail. Horses use their tails to flick away flies, we use our eyelashes to flick away dust.

Nowadays, societies have turned eyelashes into one of the many things you have to control to be “beautiful”. It’s almost become a requirement that women spend their mornings coating their eyes in bat dung or glueing their eyes shut as they try to look “pretty”.

I’m not saying that mascara and fake eyelashes make people look bad. I’m just saying, you all look beautiful no matter what you do to your face.

I’m not kidding. Every time people say they look bad because they aren’t wearing makeup, I’m stunned. I honestly and truly believe everyone looks beautiful, no matter what they do.

Actually, most of the time, I prefer how people look when they’re going natural.

But I’m getting off topic. The point is, today is a day to celebrate both your natural lashes and your faked or painted lashes. Whichever you prefer.

I guess the official way to celebrate today is to post a picture of your lashes on social media, with the tag #nationallashday.

I mean, if you use social media, I guess that’s a good way to celebrate…

But this is basically the only form of social media I use (does this even count?). So, rather than make an account somewhere, I posted my lash pic above.

I literally just took the picture a second ago, so I’m obviously going with the natural lashes, and it’s blurry because I used my iPad.

Also, I recieved quite a few weird looks.¬†Apparently it’s not normal to have an iPad inches away from your eye.

Otherwise, celebrate today by caring for your eyelashes, maybe applying some stuff that helps strengthen your eyelashes.

They have stuff like that, right?

And for the guys reading, just saying, you can celebrate just like the girls. Posting a lash pic and strengthening your eyelashes are not girly things to do, I swear!

Anyway, however you choose to celebrate today, I hope you have a great time doing it!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

