My Mom’s Prom Dress

Passed down to me, to be passed down for generations.

image

The photo you see above is me wearing my mom’s prom dress for Halloween a few years ago.

I saw the dress hanging up at my grandma’s house and immediately fell in love with it. Seriously, isn’t it just gorgeous? It reminds me of the dresses princesses wear in fairytales.

Which is where I got the idea to wear it for Halloween. I didn’t want to be a princess, so I opted for the masquerade look instead. I had a mask to go with it and everything.

You can’t see the dress fully because of the cape and the angle, but it’s strapless, very form-fitted at the top, and poofs out immediately at the waist before flowing beautifully down to mid-calf.

My mom had to pull it in quite a bit around the torso. Turns out, when my mom was my age, she had a slightly larger waist than me and a much larger bosom.

We actually failed in bringing the bosom in quite enough because there are wires holding it in place, but we pulled in the waist enough that it still stayed up without any problem.

Thank Heaven my mom and grandma are highly talented seamstresses (at least, in their free time)!

It’s funny. When my grandma told me it was her prom dress, I got really excited and thought my mom had the best taste in the world. But when I showed my mom the dress, she looked at my grandma in shock and asked why in the world she kept the thing.

Turns out, she never liked the dress. I guess that’s not all that surprising since she hates lace. It’s one of the few things we really disagree on when it comes to fashion. She hates lace. I love lace.

But when I decided to wear it for Halloween, she didn’t argue. I loved wearing it, and I think she was just glad to have it out of her hands.

When I have kids, I hope I have a little girl so I can pass the dress down to her when she’s old enough to care for it. And if I don’t have a girl, then maybe I can pass it down to a granddaughter. Who knows? But I can just imagine them loving the dress just as much as I do and wearing it just┬áto feel like a princess, if only for a moment.

But that’s a long way away. For now, the dress is mine to adore.

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

