The Act of Being Kind

When did doing a good deed become something out of the ordinary?

I have a very good reason for thinking about this right now.

You see, this morning, I was about to start walking down the stairs to get to my first period class when I saw some random guy drop a cord of some sort on the ground.

I’m wearing heels and a dress today (we dress up on Thursdays before competition, and we have one Saturday), had my heavy backpack on my back, and he was going up the stairs, but I didn’t even hesitate as I stooped down to pick up the cord, then rushed up the stairs so I could give it to him.

I thought that was completely normal. Anyone would have done it, right?

Apparently, that’s wrong. As I walked back down the stairs, I got more than a few curious and strange looks. At first I thought it was because of my dressiness (yes, I just created a word. Deal with it), but people dress up all the time and never get curious looks.

Heck, I’ve dressed up more times than I can count and have never gotten a single weird look!

No, they were looking at me weird because of what I’d done, because my first instict was to make sure that random guy didn’t lose whatever it was he dropped.

What the heck?!?

Since when is it weird and out of the ordinary to help someone?!?!?

Am I missing something? Did the world just decide to play a trick on me today? Because there’s no way we’ve gotten to the point where an ordinary act of kindness is seen as a foreign concept.

There’s just no way! Like… No! I refuse to believe it!

I have literally built my life around kindness. Everything I am, everything I strive to be, is based on living for others and making sure they’re happy and they feel worthwhile. My life is nothing without kindness.

I refuse to belive that good deeds and simple acts of kindess aren’t commonplace. That’s just… No!

There aren’t even words to describe my level of disappointment!

… You know what?

I have a mission for you all, if you choose to accept it.

I need you all to start up a movement of kindness.

Any chance you get, act for someone else. Make random acts of kindness commonplace. Make helping someone out a thoughtless reaction. Make good deeds normal once again.

I refuse to live in a world where people only act for themselves. It’s unthinkable and unacceptable. It needs to change.

I don’t really know what I’m asking of all of you, but I think you all understand what I’m getting at. I just… I really don’t know what to say about it. It’s just ridiculous.

Anyway, there’s my little rant for the day. I just had to get that out there.

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

2 thoughts on “The Act of Being Kind”

  1. I love the little bubble of Hope (yes, I know I’m punny) that you exist in. You don’t see everything for what it is, but what it could/should be. Those who didn’t even think to pick up the cord are the ones who should have felt shame, not the amazingness (yes, I just created a word. You can deal with getting some of your medicine.) that is Hope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

