Today’s Holiday: Champion Crab Races Day

February 17, 2016.

I swear I’m not crazy. This is a totally real holiday, and a sporting event as well!

This seriously awesome holiday commemorates the event it’s named for, which takes place annually in Crescent City, California. People come in from all over to race Dungeness crabs, urging them down a four-foot raceway, betting and hoping that their crab will win.

The winning crab gets to go back into the water.

All the other crabs?

Let’s just say, those who attend the races end up eating quite a bit of fresh crab throughout the day.

Obviously, if you don’t live in Crescent City, it’s a little hard to watch the crab races to celebrate today. Which means, we’re gonna have to get creative!

The obvious way to celebrate today is to eat some crab. I myself am not a very big fan of crab meat, so I think I’ll be staying away from that one, but if you’re a fan of crab, be my guest!

Another way you can celebrate today is by making some crab related crafts! I found this amazing blog that had a whole bunch of craft ideas, and though many seem difficult, maybe they’ll give you some ideas! Check out the blog here!

And one idea I had that seems a little far-fetched… Maybe you can even host your own crab races today! I don’t know how that’s work, but if you really wanna do it, I bet you can make it happen!

However you choose to celebrate today, I hope it’s amazing and you have a great time doing it!

Have a wonderful day of celebration!!!


Picture sources: BLo’s blah blah blog

National Crab Racing Association

Ninemsn

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

