A Flower for Your Thoughts: The Angel’s Trumpet

A beautiful flower in the equally beautiful Ecuador.

Like most of the flowers in the world, angel’s trumpets are not very widely known. However, if you ever have the chance to see them in real life, they’ll take your breath away.

image

The image above is a picture I took of the flower during my trip to Ecuador in 2013.

My gosh, Ecuador is such a beautiful country. If anyone’s looking for an amazing and unique travel destination out of the country, that’s the place I’d suggest.

Sorry, sorry. I’m getting off topic (though at this point, that shouldn’t be surprising). We’re not here to talk about Ecuador, we’re here to talk about this gorgeous flower that I happened to see there.

“Angel’s trumpet” is actually just the common name for the genus Brugmansia, which includes seven species of flowering shrubs or trees, all of which are, sadly, extinct in the wild. The flower I took a picture of was in a sanctuary.

There isn’t too much of a story behind this flower. There aren’t any myths or anything about it (that I could find, at least), it hasn’t really been referenced in literature or in films, and it’s not atrociously rare. However, I did find one interesting tidbit about it.

Angel’s trumpets are used for both medicinal purposes and as toxins.

What?!? If this flower is poisonous, why is it used to heal people?!?!?

I’m glad you asked! When it comes to the medical uses of this flower, it’s generally only used externally, ground up into a poultice or an ointment. It’s used to treat basically any sort of exterior pain, from headaches to inflamation to arthritis.

The flower only truly becomes toxic when ingested. It can cause headaches, confusion, dry mouth, diarrhea, hallucinations, amnesia, and even death, among other things.

So, in short: external use is okay, internal is not.

And on a bit of an unrelated note, the meaning of a Trumpet Flower (which is the general term used for this type of flower) in the world of Floriography is Fame.

Yeah, I don’t understand it either.

Then again, floriography never makes sense, does it?

 

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

1 thought on “A Flower for Your Thoughts: The Angel’s Trumpet”

Leave a Reply

