Whaler of the Stars

image

In the night, I sailed through the skies
As a whaler of the stars.
My giant harpoon glinted in the moon
As I hunted near and far.
I brought them down in packs or alone.
There was nowhere to hide.
I sold them to merchants. They wanted more.
I was happy to abide.
The brighter they were, the better the price,
So brighter stars I downed.
I was always kind. Their deaths were quick.
They never made a sound.
I kept a collection of the brightest stars,
The alpha of each drove.
They were my trophies, my spoils of war.
The treasures of my trove.
All was well for quite some time.
I was rich in every sense.
But, strangely enough, my people grew angry
And argued my offense.
They told me my work was darkening the skies.
True, but it lit their homes.
They said what I did was destructive and wrong.
This cut into my bones.
“How dare you blame me for such wrongdoing!”
I yelled, angry and shocked.
“You egged me on, encouraged my work!
Bought each time I docked!”
But the people cared not what I had to say.
Someone had to be blamed.
So as I pulled into port the next time,
I found the end to my reign.
And as I floated in waters turned red,
Drawn in by a glinting harpoon,
I saw a night sky as black as fresh coal,
Lit only by the moon.


*(Note: I wrote this based on a dream I had. It literally happened exactly as I described it, and it was insane. And yes, it had just as much depth to it as I described in this poem. Yeah… Sometimes my dreams are a bit… Haunting.)

Picture Source: This is actually a digital art piece called Sailing Through The Night Sky by a man named Andy King. He’s pretty darn talented. Check him out here!

My poetry belongs to me. All poems under the category “Poetry by Me” are mine. Use of my poetry without my permission is prohibited. If you wish to use any my poetry for any reason, ask me for permission first.

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

