Today’s Holiday: Madly in Love With Myself Day

February 13, 2016

I would hope this is the easiest day of the year for you to celebrate.

Today is “Madly in Love With Myself Day”, which has an incredibly simple concept: love yourself.

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day, the day when you love absolutely everyone else but generally ignore yourself. That’s why this day was created: so you can appreciate yourself in all your amazingness and beauty.

image

There’s obviously a million different ways you can celebrate today. You can buy yourself a gift, maybe your favorite fatty food because of course you can eat it and still be beautiful because you are beautiful, no matter what.

You can spend the day being yourself and feeling comfortable in your own skin, wearing what you want and acting like you want.

You can even just look in the mirror and, instead of pointing out all your flaws, point out all the things you love most about yourself.

However you celebrate today, just make sure to appreciate yourself. I’ll probably do all of the above and get everyone else to celebrate as well.

A little side note: though this is the first year I’m celebrating this day, it means a lot to me. I don’t talk about it much, but there was a time when I forgot how to love myself for who I am.

It wasn’t exactly my fault. I just… Listened to people. Everyone was always talking about how tall and skinny I was, and how that made me pretty. No one ever pointed out any other ways I was pretty, so I thought that was all I had. And… I thought that was why people liked me.

I never really had many friends before high school, you know. I found my first real friend in seventh grade.

And this was freshman year, so I was still getting used to the concept of people liking me.

So I started trying to wear shoes that made me taller, even though I hated heels. I stopped eating enough to feel full because every time I did, I found a slight buldge in my stomach that was completely normal, but that I saw as dangerous.

I checked my weight often during that time, and used the weight I found to do BMI calculations. Even then, I didn’t really know why I wanted to know my BMI, but I did.

Then one of the times I checked my weight and calculated my BMI, it said I was underweight.

In that moment, I realized that was what I was checking for. I was waiting for the day I would be just barely underweight, not enough to hurt me, but enough to keep me “permanently pretty”.

That realization disgusted me. I don’t know who or what I was disgusted with. Maybe the people who told me skinny was pretty. Maybe the scale. Maybe myself.

Whoever or whatever I was disgusted with, I decided I was done with that life. I’m naturally a bit of a stick and I have trouble gaining weight, so I knew I couldn’t exactly try to gain weight.

But I could absolutely try not to lose anymore.

Now, I’m back to a healthy weight. In fact, I weigh more than I ever have before. My BMI is generally about 19.8, a fact that I am incredibly proud of!

I still wear heels every once in a while, though. Not because I want to be taller, but because I’ve gotten very good at walking in heels.

Anyway, that was a bit of a story that I hadn’t expected to tell. If you want to share your story with me, I’d love to hear it!

Have a wonderful day of celebration, and don’t forget to love yourself!


 

Picture source: mid-continent public library

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

