Today’s Holiday: Plimsoll Day

February 10, 2016

So there are a lot of things this day can mean.

Are we celebrating the Plimsoll symbol and line (I have no idea, just look at the first image or click one of the links)?

Or maybe we’re celebrating the Plimsoll shoe, which has lines that (apparently)┬áresemble the Plimsoll line.

Or maybe, just maybe, we’re celebrating Samuel Plimsoll, a former member of the British Parliment and the man who came up with the idea of the Plimsoll line.

All my sources say we’re celebrating the actual person Samuel Plimsoll, but I beg to differ.

Plimsoll devised the line, so the Plimsoll line is to be celebrated as well. The Plimsoll symbol is used in calculating the Plimsoll line, so add that into the mix. And the Plimsoll shoe was named because its lines resemble the line (still don’t see it, but whatever), so there’s that.

Basically what I’m saying is, today we celebrate everything Plimsoll.

If you have Plimsoll shoes, wear them.

If you have a boat, try doing some Plimsoll line stuff with it (I honestly have no clue how that all works, but I’m going to look into it).

And if you have neither of those, just look into Samuel Plimsoll. Learn about who he was and why he was so important that a day was made to celebrate him.

You never know when such strange information might help you.

Anyway, I’ve held you long enough.

Have a wonderful day of celebration! Until tomorrow!


 

Picture sources: iansdiary

wikipedia

BBC: your paintings

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

