Red Skies and Black Seas

A repeated dream that turned into a nightmare. (Recounted dream)

image

So I’ve been thinking about dreams lately for a lot of reasons (which I will not go into), and I keep thinking about this dream I had two nights in a row when I was really little.

Well, actually, it was more of a nightmare.

The first night I remember rather vividly, and I remember being entirely unafraid. The next night, when the dream came up again, it was a continuation of the first night. However, the second night I was terrified and woke up with tears in my eyes.

I’ve always wondered about this repeated dream/nightmare, why I had it and why the two nights were so similar yet so different.

So here’s what I remember about them:

The first night started off simple enough. There were no adults, just by brother, two cousins and I (to learn more about them, check out this post).

My younger cousin and I were in the little blue wagon my family kept down in Florida at the time, the one my parents used to pull us to the beach in. However, in the dream, my brother was the one pulling it, and my older cousin was walking beside it.

The path we were moving on appeared endless at first. It was a narrow, beaten dirt path with black trees void of leaves lining either side. The sky was a deep red, sort of like the moment the sky is brightest before the sun sets, but the whole sky was that shade and the sun was nowhere in sight.

I think we were talking about something, maybe about how long the trip was or where we were going. I never remember specific words, just the basics of conversation and scenery.

Finally, the end of the path appeared at the bottom of the hill we were on. We reached it in no time and found ourselves at the edge of a wide expanse of beach. The sand was its normal golden hue. The sea was a distance away, churning with dark waves. They were’t completely black, but rather just darkened by the night.

Built on the sand a short ways away was a giant mansion, or maybe a modernised castle. Actually, I’d compare it to the mansion on the island in “And Then There Were None“.

In fact, as I think about it more, I’d compare the entire dream to “And Then There Were None”.

I remember feeling relieved becuase we finally made it, though I don’t remember if I was relieved that we made it there or that we made it anywhere.

We approached to the entrance of the mansion, and a steriotypical butler opened the door as we neared. He bowed to us and led us through the main parlor, which seemed endless in its size. I could see a chandelier hanging from the ceiling, but I couldn’t see the ceiling.

That’s when we split apart. My brother and older cousin were led away somewhere, possibly to their rooms, and I remember calling out to them, begging them not to leave me, but they ignored my pleas and led their two younger siblings behind.

My little cousin just sat there, looking around and playing with some toy. I saw some food sitting on a table and brought him something to eat, but didn’t eat anything myself. I know I was starving, I remember the hunger, but I wanted to save the food for my brother and older cousin when they returned.

But when no one came for a long time, I started wondering. I don’t think I got lost, but I know I never found my way back to that main room, nor did I ever run into another living soul that first night.

I wondered into the basement at one point and found myself staring at a furnace or something similar. At another point, I found my bedroom, which was lush and fit for royalty. I think I ran into a different butler at some point, but he was pale and I knew he was dead, or rather undead. I believe he brought me to the kitchen and gave me food, but I didn’t eat. I saved it for the others, for when I found them.

And I remember, just before the dream ended, I reached the highest tower in the mansion. It was a perfect circle, and every wall was lined with glass windows, so I could look out in every direction. In one direction I saw the dark, dead woods we’d entered from, as well as the edge of the dirt path. In the other, I saw the dark sea churning. And everywhere in between was an empty expanse of golden sand.

I woke up with no fear. Actually, I was a bit upset that it ended where it did because somehow I knew there was more to the story. The next night, I went to bed hoping I would have the dream again, but actually finish it that time.

I should have heeded the warning “be careful what you wish for”.

The second night began where the first left off. I was in the tower room, looking out through the glass, but this time, I saw a group of people as small as ants walking onto the beach.

I immediately raced out of the tower room, down the spiral steps and through endless hallways, searching for an exit. Before I could find one, I stopped in a rather small and sparce room with no windows. I was alone in the room with only my grandmother on my mom’s side. She smiled at me and I ran straight into her hug.

This is where things became whisps of memories. I think I’ve tried to bury the memories, hide them in the back of my mind. Everything I saw from that moment on was terrifying and traumatizing.

My grandma and I left the room at some point. I think we were looking for someone. After a while of walking, there came a reason for us to split up. I watched as my grandma turned the corner and was gone. I was sad and scared and tried to chase after her, but when I turned the corner, she was gone.

A lot happened after that. I started running. I ran to find places, to find people. I chased after people and lost them. I ran away from things that scared me. Nothing ever attacked me. In fact, the only people or things that seemed to see me were my many family members, who all cried out to me for numerous reasons.

The only people who didn’t cry out to me were my brother, grandmother, and two cousins. And the only reason they didn’t cry out to me was becasue I never saw them again.

Everything is a blur until the ending two scenes. In the first, I’ve finally found an exit and walk out onto the beach. I see my mother and start walking towards her. I don’t run, though. After everything that happened, I’m nervous, but I want to get to her. She doesn’t see me at first, instead staring off at the black sea.

I’m stopped halfway to her as a skeletal hand bursts through the sand. I don’t react much, just stop and watch in confusion.

My mother, however, snaps her attention to the hand. Her eyes widen. She looks at me and starts to scream for me to run as hundreds of hands burst out of the ground and claw for purchase, tugging out their skeletal bodies.

My mother screams as they begin grabbing at her, tearing at her, trying to suffocate her or drown her, trying to kill her.

I take a few steps forward, tears streaming down my cheeks as I search for a way to help, but I can’t. So, instead, I run. I run back into the mansion, through the endless hallways and rooms, until I find myself back in the tower room.

As I look out through the windows, the waters rage and swell. The red sky seems to burn the trees. I can see the path we entered through, but small black shrubs are starting to grow over the entrance.

Littering the beach and mansion, I can see every traumatizing scene I had witnessed. I can feel the warm tears streaming down my face, but I can do nothing to stop it all.

The dream ends with a man appearing before me. I can’t remember exactly what he looked like, or even if he was a man at all. All I remember is that the figure was cloaked in swaying black, and as I looked at him, I felt completely defeated.

Then I woke up crying, immediately trying to wipe away the terrible memories from the dream.


 

Picture Source: WallpapersXL

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

