A Flower for Your Thoughts: Middlemist Reds

The rarest flower in the world.

Obviously there’s hundreds of rare flowers in the world, but have you ever wondered which is the rarest of them all?

You could try finding a magic mirror to ask, or I could just tell you.

image

The rarest flower of them all is the Middlemist Red (not the band, mind you). I actually stumbled across this flower while reading a story, and when I searched its name, I was amazed by what I found.

There are only two documented places where you can find this flower species: a greenhouse in the UK, and a garden in New Zealand.

Unless there’s some random person in the world unknowingly growing it in their garden, this flower exists nowhere else.

Which isn’t much of a surprise. Middlemist Reds are a species of Camellia, a flower genus known to have dozens of rare species. This fact is mainly due to habitat destruction, though their need for a great deal of water may also be a factor.

Not to mention, most Camellia species don’t grow on their own in the wild. They have to be cultivated to grow.

Seriously, it’s no wonder they’re having so much trouble surviving!

The flower gets its name from John Middlemist (pretty cool name, if I do say so myself), who brought the flower to Britain from China back in 1804. It’s said that he stood on the street and either passed them out or sold them to random people.

Imagine that for a second. John Middlemist just passed the flowers out to bystanders who happened to stroll by. Granted, he had no clue how rare the flower would become, nor did anyone else.

At the time, everyone just thought they were pretty flowers.

Maybe it’s just me, but that’s simply mind-blowing!

Though I guess I can imagine myself as part of that crowd, being given a flower and aweing at its beauty. They are rather stunning, even if their name is a bit misleading.

… They’re bright pink, not red…


 

Picture source: the BBC

*Also, I tried finding a biography of John Middlemist, but there’s nothing out there that I could find, not even a wikipedia page! Wikipedia, you’ve failed me.*

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

