Today’s Holiday: USO Day

February 4, 2016

The USO, which stands for United Service Organization, is a wonderful organization that was founded on this day in 1941.

image

I myself have never heard of it, so I looked up some information about it. Turns out it’s a non-profit organization that works with America’s troops and their families with the sole purpose of paying them back for their sacrifices for this country.

I found that there are six civilian organizations under the USO: the Salvation Army, Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA), Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA), National Catholic Community Service, National Travellers Aid Association and National Jewish Welfare Board. (Info from World’s Special Days)

Their motto, “Until Every One Comes Home”, is just beautiful. At least, in my opinion. Seriously, you can’t get any more emotional than that.

Beyond that, there isn’t much else. I might visit the Salvation Army to celebrate the day, or try to find some donation area for one of the organiztions. That would be nice.

Either way, this day should be celebrated, so I’ll find a way. The USO is an amazing organization and should be recognized.


 

Picture Source: The Michigan Mitten

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

