Today’s Holiday: The Day the Music Died

February 3, 2016

On this day in 1959, a tragic event occured, one that left a mark on history.

image

Buddy Holly and his band were performing on the “Winter Dance Party” tour, along with rising artists Ritchie Valens and J.P. Ritchardson. After stopping at Clear Lake to perform, Holly became frustrated with the conditions of the tour (the winter was making the long bus rides uncomfortable to say the least) and chartered a plane.

Not everyone could fit on the plane. It was a four seater, with the pilot included. Because Holly chartered the plane, he got one seat. Richardson had the flu and Valens won a coin toss, so they took the other two seats while the rest of Holly’s band went by bus.

The dark night and wintery conditions made flying difficult. Soon after takeoff, the pilot, Roger Peterson, lost control of the plane. They crashed into a cornfield.

There were no survivors.

The day became known as The Day the Music Died when Don McLean referred to it as such in his song “American Pie”.

To remember the tragic event, I’ll be listening to the song “American Pie”. I haven’t done it just yet, so I can’t say anything about it. I can’t promise I will, either. I’m not much good at discussing music.

Until tomorrow!

P.S. If you haven’t noticed it yet, I have a tab at the top called The Holiday Philosophy. In the drop down, you’ll find the calender I’m putting together of daily holidays. It’s a work in progress, obviously, and probably won’t get too far until spring break. At the very least, I’ll keep it updated.


 

Picture source: wikipedia

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

