A Flower for Your Thoughts: The Story of the Snowdrop

There’s always more than meets the eye.

I expect very few of you have ever heard of this flower. Unlike the rose, daisy, or carnation, no one talks about it. However, I can say with absolute certainty that the snowdrop is my favorite flower.

This flower is obviously very small, which is possibly why it isn’t widely known. However, in places where it’s common, the flowers bloom in close quarters and form a carpet of white. The site is beautiful (as you can see in the first image above), and one that I hope with all my heart that I might have the chance to see one day.

This is one of the many reasons I love this flower. The fact that, alone, it’s so small and unnoticeable. But when it stands with its brethren, it creates a mass of beauty that is impossible to overlook.

No, that isn’t the only reason. In fact, the story of the snowdrop is what really makes me love it so much.

Did you know the snowdrop is the first flower to bloom at the beginning of spring? It’s often found blooming while snow is still on the ground. Floriography, the language of flowers, took this fact into account when giving the flower its meaning.

Can you guess what that meaning is? It’s one of the simplest and purest in the entire language.

The snowdrop means “hope”.

I’m sure the meaning varies just as every other meaning does, but I’ve looked through multiple dictionaries and the only additions to the meaning I’ve found are “pure” or “consolation”. However, it’s rare that these additions are made, and the meaning is almost always just “hope”.

I love that something so small and so overlooked means something so simple yet so powerful. And I bet you’ve never noticed the snowdrop’s references in some of my favorite works of literature and fim.

Hans Christian Anderson, my absolute favorite children’s author and probably yours as well (though you might not realize he is), wrote a short story entitled The Snowdrop, which follows a snowdrop as it blooms, reachs for the light, and eventually finds itself pressed between the pages of a poetry book (and what beautiful symbolism that is!).

And in the movie Stardust (my absolute FAVORITE movie EVER (you should totally watch it if you haven’t already)), Dustan recieves a glass snowdrop (yeah, it’s a snowdrop. I only recently found out myself) from Una in exchange for a kiss. The same snowdrop is used to protect Tristan from Lamia’s magic later on in the movie.

It’s even been suggested that a flower that appears in Homer’s Odyssey, a magical herb referred to as moly, is actually a snowdrop. There’s an active substance in the snowdrop called galantamine that’s used in the treatment of Alzheimer’s. The same substance could have been used as an antidote for Circe’s poisons.

The snowdrop is an amazing and beautiful flower, and it saddens me to know it will never be recognized as an equal to flowers such as the daisy or the rose.

But at least I’ve shared this marvelous flower with you. And though you may not care, you’ve read and so you know.

Thank you for giving me your time.

Have a beautiful and wonderful day!


Picture Sources: wikipedia

Mother Nature Network

Coton Manor Garden

 

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

1 thought on “A Flower for Your Thoughts: The Story of the Snowdrop”

Leave a Reply

