Flawed Characters

Why the characters of Percy Jackson will forever live in our hearts. *spoilers*

Nobody’s perfect.

Sorry to burst your bubble, but that’s a sad (and amazingly beautiful) truth of life. Everyone is flawed in some way, usually in dozens of ways, and fictional characters are no exception.

In fact, a character’s flaws are the reason we love them so much.

The characters from the world of Percy Jackson are my favorite examples of flawed characters. Save a few of the characters who continuously try to ignore their flaws (Jason, Piper… You know the type), they’re all so imperfect that you can’t help but love them.

One of the most obvious examples of this: Percy Jackson.

Though Percy grows quite a bit over both series set in his world, he never really grows out of his “I never really know what’s going on so I’m just going to be sarcastic and sassy about it” faze. He’s a complete idiot and cares more about the safety of others than his own personal health. He’s looked up to by everyone, yet he always steps out of the spotlight and acts like he’s completely normal.

And, of course, he’s completely oblivious.

You gotta love the guy.

But he’s not the only one. Here’s another guy you gotta love: Leo Valdez.

Before I start, I’m just going to get this out there: ever since the fist moment Leo was introduced, I was head-over-heels for the guy. I swear I’ve never had a bigger crush on anyone, ever. My friends called my crazy, said he was annoying, but I thought he was amazing. He was sarcastic and funny, always looking for the positive in every situation, and they way I imagined him was downright hot.

But that wasn’t why I liked him. I liked him because, from the very beginning, I knew he was different from the other characters. His smile was too bright to be real, his humor too common to be careless. I knew he was hiding something, and before the books even told us, I knew what. I knew he was hiding his pain, his sadness, his guilt. I knew he was hiding his hurt and longing.

I knew, because he reminded me of myself.

His flaws were so real and so understandable that my heart went straigt to him and stayed with him. And when he fell for Calypso, I felt true heartbreak for the first time in my life.

People say you can’t truely love fictional characters?

Those people are liars. You can. And they can hurt just like any real person.

Anyway, enough about that. You don’t want to know about my heartbreak. You want to know about the last flawed character I’m going to discuss: Nico Di Angelo.

Nico may possibly be one of the greatest characters ever created. He’s introduced as a supporting character, a character you expect never to see again. Then his sister dies, and you know you’re wrong.

Everything about him is flawed, and that’s why we love him so much. He’s the youngest physically, but the oldest in every other sense. He starts off only wanting revenge, then he decides otherwise and ends up playing a huge part in every victory. Yet he never feels like he can fit in, so remains a loner.

Then you find out he’s gay and had a crush on Percy, and your love for him is increased tenfold.

And that’s not all. He started off wanting revenge, but he ends up only wanting to help, even if it means losing himself to the darkness.

And if that’s not enough, he understands death in a way no one will ever understand and has to let people die when he could have saved them.

Oh yeah. You gotta love the angel.

And this is why the Percy Jackson world is the best place to find flawed characters.

(On a side note, please don’t copyright me on any of these piectures. I just like them a lot more than the official ones and can’t find the artists. If you are one of the artists or know one of the artists, would you please let me know so I can give you credit?)

Author: Hope Alexandra Cullers

I'm an aspiring writer and relatively seasoned traveler who only wishes to see, experience, and learn more. I'm ADD, HSP, a perfectionist, and an extroverted introvert. I'm crazy about the idea of perspectives, find joy in the little things, and make it my personal mission to see the beauty is everything. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for taking the time to visit! Remember, carpe diem!

Leave a Reply

